THE CITY WAS YELLOW: THE CHICAGO SUITE

THE ONJ INVITES MIKE REED

End of mandate project
CREATION JANUARY 2018 SONS D’HIVER FESTIVAL


MIKE REED artistic director, arrangements, drums
JASON ROEBKE double bass
GREG WARD alto saxophone
TIM HALDEMAN tenor saxophone

JEAN DOUSTEYSSIER clarinets
ALEXANDRA GRIMAL tenor saxophone
HUGUES MAYOT alto saxophone
FIDEL FOURNEYRON trombone
FABRICE MARTINEZ trumpet, flugelhorn
SOPHIE AGNEL piano
PAUL BROUSSEAU Fender Rhodes
ÉRIC ECHAMPARD drums

The ONJ invites one of the most emblematic musicians on the Chicago scene for a creation in homage to the American city.

It was following a trip to Chicago, organized by the ONDA in November 2016, that Olivier Benoit imagined this new urban evocation whose transatlantic resonance with the Europa cycle comes as the culmination of the end of his mandate at the head of the ONJ (June 2018). For this brand new project conceived in partnership with The Bridge, the Artistic Director chose to entrust the orchestra and the writing of the programme to drummer, composer and conductor Mike Reed.  As a figure of the new generation of the AACM, and also as the creator of the Pitchfork Music Festival, co-programmer of the Chicago Jazz Festival, and director of both Constellation, one of the city’s most dynamic venues, and the Hungry Brain, this musician and poly-technician has progressively drawn attention as one of the most singular artistic voices of the contemporary jazz landscape, thanks to works that form a skilful blend of Chicagoan traditions and across the board experiments, historical consciousness and liberated research.

To be presented at the end of January 2018 at the Sons d’Hiver Festival, the new creation The City Was Yellow: The Chicago Suite revisits a series of pieces by leading composers and ensembles from the Windy City over the previous 30 years: Ed Wilkerson, Rob Mazurek, Ken Vandermark, Nicole Mitchell, Tortoise… A repertoire specially arranged by Mike Reed for the ONJ, joined by the musicians of his favourite post-bop quartet, People, Places & Things, a name that appears as a return to the sources of all artistic equations and explorations.

In prelude to this event, two exceptional encounters are proposed for November 2017. The first sees Olivier Benoit reunited with Mike Reed in duo on stage at the great salon in the United States Foundation of the Cité Internationale Universitaire in Paris, on the occasion of the drummer’s participation in the first multidisciplinary seminar on his home city organized by the University of Chicago in Paris. The second honours a trio formed by ONJ musicians Sylvain Daniel and Fabrice Martinez with Mike Reed, in the context of an evening concert at the ‘Banlieues Bleues’ Dynamo that also welcomes two other cornerstones of the Chicago scene: Dave Remplis and Frank Rosaly.

RENDEZ-VOUS :

17 NOVEMBER 2017
Encounter MIKE REED drums – OLIVIER BENOIT guitar
United Staes Fondation – Cité Internationale Universitaire / Paris

In the context of the University of Chicago seminar in Paris

17 NOVEMBER 2017
Encounter 
MIKE REED drums – SYLVAIN DANIEL electric bass
FABRICE MARTINEZ trumpet
First set:
DAVE REMPLIS saxophone – FRANK ROSALY drums
Dynamo de Banlieues Bleues / Pantin

27 NOVEMBER 2017
CREATION
THE CITY WAS YELLOW: THE CHICAGO SUITE
ORCHESTRE NATIONAL DE JAZZ – MIKE REED
SONS D’HIVER FESTIVAL – THÉÂTRE JACQUES CARAT / CACHAN
Project produced in association with ONDA, in partnership with
Sons d’Hiver and The Bridge.


retour

THE CITY WAS YELLOW: THE CHICAGO SUITE

L’ONJ INVITE MIKE REED

Projet de fin de mandat
CRÉATION JANVIER 2018 FESTIVAL SONS D’HIVER


MIKE REED direction artistique, arrangements, batterie
JASON ROEBKE contrebasse
GREG WARD saxophone alto
TIM HALDEMAN saxophone ténor

JEAN DOUSTEYSSIER clarinettes
ALEXANDRA GRIMAL saxophone ténor
HUGUES MAYOT saxophone alto
FIDEL FOURNEYRON trombone
FABRICE MARTINEZ trompette, bugle
SOPHIE AGNEL piano
PAUL BROUSSEAU Fender Rhodes
ÉRIC ECHAMPARD batterie

L’ONJ invite un des musiciens les plus emblématiques de la scène de Chicago pour une création en hommage à la ville américaine.

C’est à l’issue d’un voyage à Chicago, organisé par l’ONDA en novembre 2016, qu’Olivier Benoit a imaginé cette nouvelle évocation urbaine, en résonance transatlantique au cycle Europa et comme point d’orgue de la fin de son mandat à la tête de l’ONJ (Juin 2018). Pour ce projet inédit, conçu en partenariat avec The Bridge, le directeur artistique a choisi de confier l’orchestre et l’écriture du programme au batteur, compositeur et chef d’orchestre Mike Reed. Figure de la nouvelle génération de l’AACM, également créateur du Pitchfork Music Festival, co-programmateur du Chicago Jazz Festival, directeur de Constellation, l’une des salles les plus dynamiques de la ville, mais aussi du Hungry Brain, ce musicien-polytechnicien s’est progressivement distingué comme l’une des voix artistiques les plus singulières dans le paysage jazzistique contemporain, à travers une oeuvre mêlant savamment traditions chicagoanes et expérimentations tous azimuts, conscience historique et recherche affranchie.
Présentée fin janvier 2018 au Festival Sons d’Hiver, la création The City Was Yellow: The Chicago Suite revisitera une série de pièces de compositeurs et d’ensembles phares de la Windy City au cours des 30 dernières années : Ed Wilkerson, Rob Mazurek, Ken Vandermark, Nicole Mitchell, Tortoise… Un répertoire spécialement arrangé par Mike Reed pour l’ONJ, auquel se joindront les musiciens de son quartet post-bop de prédilection People, Places & Things. Des gens, des lieux et des choses, comme une remontée à la source de toutes les équations et explorations artistiques.

Deux rencontres exceptionnelles seront proposées en novembre 2017, en prélude à l’événement. La première réunira Olivier Benoit et Mike Reed en duo, sur la scène du grand salon de la Fondation des États-Unis de la Cité internationale universitaire, à l’occasion de la participation du batteur au premier colloque pluridisciplinaire sur sa ville organisé par l’Université de Chicago à Paris. La seconde, mettra à l’honneur un trio formé des musiciens de l’ONJ Sylvain Daniel et Fabrice Martinez avec Mike Reed, dans le cadre d’une soirée à la Dynamo de Banlieues Bleues qui accueillera également deux autres piliers de la scène de Chicago : Dave Remplis et Frank Rosaly.

LES RENDEZ-VOUS :

17 NOVEMBRE 2017
Rencontre MIKE REED batterie – OLIVIER BENOIT guitare
Fondation des États-Unis – Cité internationale universitaire / Paris

Dans le cadre du colloque de l’Université de Chicago à Paris

17 NOVEMBRE 2017
Rencontre 
MIKE REED batterie – SYLVAIN DANIEL basse électrique
FABRICE MARTINEZ trompette
Première partie :
DAVE REMPLIS saxophone – FRANK ROSALY batterie
La Dynamo de Banlieues Bleues / Pantin

27 NOVEMBRE 2017
CRÉATION
THE CITY WAS YELLOW: THE CHICAGO SUITE
ORCHESTRE NATIONAL DE JAZZ – MIKE REED
FESTIVAL SONS D’HIVER – THÉÂTRE JACQUES CARAT / CACHAN
Projet réalisé en partenariat avec Sons d’Hiver et The Bridge.

      


Photo Mike Reed © Adrienne Thomas


retour